Seeking to purchase, lease, or collaborate on sustainable farm

Description:

We are looking for a farm with living facility for a small scale family farm, using organic and permaculture methods. We are open to mentorship and gradual change of hands. We are open to living on the same land with others who are likeminded.

Who I am and What I'm looking for:

I am a potter and a baker and am very interested in permaculture and sustainable land practices. My husband is a software engineer who is ready to move on from the tech sector to living off the land. We have a 4 year old and want to raise him with an awareness of the food he eats. We are currently living in Vancouver WA but are open to almost anywhere as long as reasonable distance to school. We are interested in creating a permaculture food forest and orchard, selling fresh and preserved produce, nursery starts, honey, growing and selling flowers, mushrooms, berries and herbs, raising chickens, and potentially producing goat cheese some day (our last name is Chevrel). I also have some early childhood education background and I'm interested in creating farm-focused early childhood programs for/within the community. We like the idea of farm community and are open to collaboration, however, we are non-smokers and very light drinkers so we prefer not to live on a party compound . We have some start-up capital but no business plan. Our plan might look different depending on the situation we find.

Farming Experience:

I have had progressively larger garden projects for the last five years. We are now growing enough food for for 5 or 6 families. I have a neighborhood starts stand and sell and trade starts to home gardeners all over Vancouver and Portland. I have read and researched extensively about gardening and permaculture, and completed several of the OSU Master Gardeners program courses.

Crops preferred to work with:

Vegetables
Berries
Poultry
Goats
Tree fruit
Greenhouse crops
Nursery

Short term plans for the land / farm business:

Our short term plans will depend on what condition the land is in. Our first plans would be to install greenhouses, plant fruit trees and manage/install water systems.

Housing needs:

Yes