Seeking Farming Position or Collaborative Farming Situation

Description:

I am seeking a full or part time position on a farm or looking for a collaborative farming situation.

Who I am and What I'm looking for:

I am currently the farm manager on a 200 acre organic farm in Wisconsin where I have been working and my family and I have been living for the last 8+ years. Our family of 3, my wife, myself, and our 12 year old daughter, are looking to relocate to the NW. I have a broad range of experience, primarily in livestock care, forage production, tractor and implement work, fencing, and infrastructure management.

Farming Experience:

I have been managing 50 acres of certified organic cropland, 40 acres of pasture, and a 100 acre forest, partly as a woodlot for heating the 3 homesteads on the farm. Primarily we have grown hay, corn, wheat, barley, and oats. My wife and I have also grown some specialty crops of Polenta and Mayan flint corn, and several varieties of dry beans. I typically do all the field work, with occasional help from our neighbors. I care for 10-20 steers at any given time, 25-100 laying hens, and in the past my wife and I had a herd of a dozen sheep for meat and wool. There are also 5 riding horses and 2 ponies on the farm my family and I manage. All machinery, building, and general infrastructure upkeep and repair is done by me. I have roughly 3000 hours of tractor work logged, and am a very careful and efficient operator.

Crops preferred to work with:

Berries
Poultry
Sheep
Cattle
Goats
Hay
Grain

Short term plans for the land / farm business:

At this point I am looking for a position on a farm, or for a collaborative situation.

Housing needs:

No